The Energy Innovation Centre (EIC) is pleased to reveal the shortlist for the highly anticipated UK Energy Innovation Awards 2017.

This year’s shortlist is more diverse than ever, thanks to a surge in the number of first time entrants. In all, 40 companies entered the awards for the first time this year. The uplift in new entrants is a strong indication of increased levels of engagement between SME innovators and energy providers, according to innovation scout EIC.

Now in its eighth year, the UK Energy Innovation Awards celebrate the best new technologies and innovations that are having a positive impact on the UK energy industry and benefitting energy customers. The awards serve to highlight successful engagement between SMEs and energy providers, showcasing the ways in which ground-breaking technologies developed by SMEs are being utilised in collaborative partnerships with UK distribution networks.

A panel of senior figures from the industry arrived at the shortlist for each of the 11 award categories as the result of an in-depth review. The shortlist comprises a broad range of innovative technologies, projects and firms from across the electricity, gas and offshore renewables sectors.

Those in the running for the newly introduced Losses Award, sponsored by Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks, stand to win a cash prize of £5,000 for first place, £3,000 for second or £2,000 for third.

EIC’s managing director, Denise Massey, chair of the judging panel comments: “Year-on-year our awards shortlist continues to reflect how the UK’s energy industry is evolving – by embracing new technologies, new business models and new ways of working.    At the EIC we are passionate about working with new third parties to discover the best innovations, facilitate fruitful partnerships with the energy networks and drive through the best value for energy customers.

The awards present us with a strong indication that industry collaboration designed to address energy challenges is increasing. The fact that growing numbers of SMEs are engaging with the awards process is testament to this and adds a heightened level of competition into the event.  It is also proof of the huge value our innovation community brings to the sector.”

Denise is now tasked with selecting winners from the shortlist, along with a host of industry experts including chief executive officer of Northern Gas Networks and EIC chairman, Mark Horsley, Cadent chief executive Chris Train OBE and Jonathan Brearley, Senior Partner of Ofgem.

The awards ceremony will be hosted by well known TV personality and The Gadget Show presenter, Jason Bradbury, at the Titanic Hotel, Liverpool on Thursday, 28th September 2017 where the shortlisted nominees will be invited to a dinner alongside the EIC’s energy network partners.

Wales & West Utilities, Northern Gas Networks and SP Energy Networks are confirmed sponsors for this year’s awards, along with the University of Strathclyde’s Power Networks Demonstration Centre, Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks, Northern Powergrid, Cadent Gas (formerly National Grid Gas Distribution), UK Power Networks and previous UK Energy Innovation Awards winner, Kelvatek, while Network Magazine is the official media partner.

The full run down of shortlisted companies is:

Best Electricity Network Improvement

Best Gas Network Improvement

Best Innovation Implemented or Adopted by a Utility Contractor

Best Innovation Contributing to Quality & Reliability of Electricity supply

Best Innovation Contributing to Quality & Reliability of Gas supply

Best Offshore Renewable Innovation

Best Safety Improvement

Environmental Impact

Best Smart Grid Innovation

Best University Technology

Losses Award


Subscribe to Updates from the EIC

©2020 EIC (Energy Innovation Centre Ltd)